Ħow Ît’s Дone

swim

I’ve been training for a Triathlon.  Just finished a Winter Foundation, and just began a 20-week program.  It seems I’m always in training; but isn’t that what life is about?  Every age of our life has been a learning curve, so being #Next50 is just another opportunity to learn something about myself that I hadn’t already picked up on.

I don’t want to be one of ‘those’ old people who stop trying.  Who slide right into the stereotype laid down by society.  Not me.  I may wake-up stiff, and may need an extra hour of sleep a night, but that doesn’t signal giving up.

Some days I’m crazy confident, and others I doubt that I had resolve the day before, but then I start swimming laps, or running trails, or biking curves, and the muscle I’ve built and maintained, the real food I eat, the time spent sleeping .. it all pays off.  I will be 58 this year and just last week, I had to modifiy some hatha yoga poses for some 20-somethings.

No one gets through life unscathed.  At every turn, life is a series of new encounters that leave many floundering for direction.  Training like I do, I don’t have that problem.   Yes, age is a lot of things, but never an excuse to give up.

People younger than me, or my age, and even older, often ask: ‘How do you do it?’  People like to find some excuse .. like, I was born with great genes, or because I’ve always exercised, or like I have all the time in the world.  No one wants the hard-truth.  What I do is for myself and my future self.  Looking back on your life, don’t you want to say you had the guts .. to do it?  Whatever ‘it’ may be.

For those who think it’s all physical, that it’s somehow based on a firm foundation laid down over the course of several decades.  You are only partiall correct.  More than anything, it’s mental.  When I am sore and tired and hungry and just want to take the day off, I pull not from where I have been but where I will be.

Future Self.

I dont know what each day will bring.  Let alone if I will even wake-up.  But I know that when my eyes open, that day is the first day .. the best day to begin anew.  To become who I am .. on that day.

And so it goes every day.  And will continue until the day I die.  I dont know how well I’ll do at Triathlon.  Doesn’t matter.  What matters is that I had the guts to train for it.

Live Deliberately!

cropped-autumn-ohio.jpg

Leave a Reply

